The International Light Rail Magazine
+44 1733 367610

Global Light Rail Awards 2016

Both of the Judges' Special Award recipients received a standing ovation from the audience. (Jon Hill)

New UK Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State for Transport Paul Maynard told the Global Light Rail Awards on 5 October “you definitely have a supporter here today”.
He said he looked forward to working with UKTram to push costs down and added “I’m not new to the sector as I have seen the tramway develop in Blackpool and know its importance to the community… I want there to be more and more systems competing to win these awards”.
Mr Maynard is the Member of Parliament for Blackpool North and Cleveleys and was appointed in July, replacing Andrew Jones. The politician was speaking at the awards ceremony in London, at which he helped hand out awards to organisations as diverse as Spain’s Tranvía de Zaragoza and Pre-Metro Operations, which operates the UK’s Stourbridge Branch with a Parry People Mover railcar.
In a packed hall, winners also included Nottingham Express Transit and Edinburgh Trams for the Most Improved Systems, and Metrolink RATP Dev, named Operator of the Year for its work in Manchester. However, perhaps the greatest applause was reserved for two individuals who won special awards from the event’s judges: London’s First Tram Operations Managing Director John Rymer, and Manchester’s Dave Skirrow, who has led attempts to improve safety through improved
under-run protection.
Next year’s ceremony is to be held on 4 October 2017.


Full winners’ roll:


Significant Safety Initiative

Sponsored by Mott MacDonald

Winner – Transdev Dublin Light Rail, Transport Infrastructure Ireland (Red Light Safety Cameras)

Winner – MPT (Manchester Metrolink’s Second City Crossing)

Highly commended – Bombardier Transportation (Obstacle Detection Assistance System)


Project Under EUR50m

Winner – Transport for Greater Manchester (Exchange Square Metrolink Stop)

Highly commended – Rotterdam Elektrische Tram (Multi-sensory interchange)


Project Over EUR50m

Sponsored by Shoosmiths

Winner – West Midlands Combined Authority (Birmingham City Centre Extension)

Highly commended – PESA (Krakowiak tram)


Outstanding Engineering Achievement

Sponsored by Keolis

Winner – Transport Design International (ULR Express)

Highly commended – PESA (Krakowiak tram)


Supplier of the Year

Sponsored by Keolis

Winner – Mott MacDonald

Highly commended – Bosch Engineering


Best Environmental and Sustainability Initiative

Sponsored by Bombardier

Winner – Los Tranvías de Zaragoza

Highly commended – MPT

Highly commended – TriMet


Best Customer Initiative

Sponsored by North Star

Winner – National Express Midland Metro (Contactless and smart payment initiatives)

Highly commended – Metrolink RATP Dev (Metrolink Customer Ambassadors)

Highly commended – Edinburgh Trams (Airport Tram Lounge)


Technical Innovation (Infrastructure)

Sponsored by UK Tram

Winner – Metrolink RATP Dev (Opto-isolation module)

Highly commended – Cecence (Lightweight overhead line equipment)

Highly commended – Plura Composites (POLYsade)

Highly commended – KeolisAmey Docklands (Guideway Overlays)


Technical Innovation (Rolling Stock)

Sponsored by UK Tram

Winner – KeolisAmey Docklands (Self-powered rail condition monitoring)

Highly commended – Metrolink RATP Dev (Anti-vandalism measures)


Manufacturer of the Year

Sponsored by Midland Metro Alliance

Winner – CAR

Highly commended – Brookville Equipment Corporation


Employee/Team of the Year

Sponsored by MPT

Winner – Nexus Rail Maintenance Team

Highly commended – Nottingham Express Transit

Highly commended –  Los Tranvías de Zaragoza


Most Improved System

Sponsored by Tramways & Urban Transit

Winner – Edinburgh Trams

Winner – Nottingham Express Transit


Vision of the Year

Winner – KeolisAmey Docklands (Service Excellence Every Day)

Highly commended – Blackpool Transport


Operator of the Year

Winner – Metrolink RATP Dev

Highly commended – Pre Metro Operations


Judges’ Special Award

Sponsored by LRTA

Winner – Dave Skirrow (Senior Operations Expansion Manager, Metrolink RATP Dev)

Winner – John Rymer (Managing Director, First Tram Operations)